MGG / Video Games Articles and stories / World of Warcraft /

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands — Deep Dive reveals more about the new expansion

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands — Deep Dive reveals more about the new expansion

The second day of BlizzCon say the "World of Warcraft: Deep Dive" conference take place, dedicated as the name suggests to new features coming to Azeroth in the Shadowlands expansion. Here is our summary of events.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands — Deep Dive reveals more about the new expansion

A lot was said regarding Shadowlands, the latest expansion announced for World of Warcraft. 


  • Four congregations will be available in four zones: Kyrian, Necrolord, Night Fae and Venthyrs
  • Choose of at Level 60
  • Players can change Covenant if they make a mistake in their choice, but it takes time to connect with your new faction.

The Covenant sanctum is similar to the Legion Class Hall, and players will spend a lot of time there.

The abilities granted by the Covenant are "a way to face a fight without fighting". Some unique customizations are then unlockable for these.

World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft

Covenant class abilities are techniques that improve the power of your class directly by adding a unique dedicated spell. Each Covenant grants a different ability.

World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft

Players have the opportunity to bind their soul to a Shadowlands inhabitant of their Covenant, allowing them to obtain a unique additional generic new ability.

It is possible to change the bind depending on the situation the player is facing.

World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • Weapons, armor, cloaks, mounts (upgradable), global bonuses and a unique campaign depending on the Covenant you choose to join.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft


  • Leveling much too long.
  • Not all levels are impactful, they do not all grant useful rewards.
  • Timelines and confusing stories.

Current zones:

World of Warcraft

New players feel they have missed something if they were not there when events took place in the game during the appropriate expansion.


  • Choose the story we want to follow.
  • Make each level useful and impactful.
  • Modernize the introduction to World of Warcraft.


  • Level squish: 1 to 60, each level becomes useful and leveling is accelerated.
  • Possibility to choose the expansion in which we want to progress between levels 10 and 50.
  • The 120 levels become 50 levels.
  • Level 50-60 takes place in Shadowlands.
  • Players of lower levels are squished to appropriate levels (your level divided by approximately 2.4).
  • New starting areas (1 to 10) for Death Knight and Demon Hunter).
  • New starting area: Exile's Reach.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • Epic zone finale: a mini-dungeon.
  • After the starting area, players travel to their capital to discover Battle for Azeroth.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • Current players have the possibility to go to Exile's Reach if they wish, or to the existing starting areas (Durotar etc).
  • Chromie is back, and allows us to choose an expansion whose history we want to follow during the Level 10-50 range, thanks to time travel.
  • At Level 50, players return to the present and travel to the Shadowlands.


  • World of Warcraft Classic is a good example of leveling that Blizzard likes.
  • Mists of Pandaria was the beginning of the problems concerning the classes.
  • Abilities were removed from Warlords of Draenor that were supposed to be useless according to Blizzard.
  • Legion introduced Artifact weapons that added unique and distinct spells to each specialization.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • In Shadowlands Covenants will grant unique abilities dedicated to CLASSES rather than specializations.
  • Developers have heard players' complaints about classes.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • The identity of the classes is back, say goodbye the identity of the unique specializations that give you the feeling of playing a different class each time you change your specialization.
  • Classes must have access to certain basic abilities in their class, even if it is a different school of magic than your specialization, for example.

Here are some of the abilities that will make their comeback in Shadowlands:

Iconic Class Abilities

  • Paladin auras (Devotion, Retribution, Concentration).
  • Persistent Shaman totems.
  • Poisons dedicated to the Rogue as a whole, not only to the Assassination specialization.
  • Warlock curses (Tongues, Doom, Weakness, Recklessness).

Talents and Honor Talents

  • Demonic Circle
  • Summon Gargoyle
  • Hunter's Mark
  • Hammer of Wrath
  • Cyclone
  • Anti Magic Zone

Long Lost Friends

  • Shattering Throw
  • Kill Shot
  • Challenging Shout
  • Eyes of the Beast
  • Ritual of Doom

Torghast and the Maw

The Maw

  • The Maw is a prison for the worst souls from Azeroth.
  • This is the domain of the Jailer.
  • Recently transformed into an unjust prison for millions of souls.
  • We have the ability to enter and exit the Maw to help our Covenant.
  • The Maw is a high-level outdoor area where everything is a threat: creatures, environment, mechanics, etc.
  • Everything you do in the Maw is visible to the Jailer through his Eyes of the Jailer ability. When you do something (kill a lieutenant, die etc.), he sends his guards after you constantly.


  • Instance that scales from 1 to 5 players
  • Enemies gain in power just like players as you climb the tower
  • Progress in this tower unlocks new challenges (traps, riddles, locks etc.)
  • This is not a timed mode.
  • Encourages exploration rather than rushing.
  • Enemies and floor layouts change with each visit.
  • As players earn Anima in Torghast, they gain access to unique abilities.
  • Each visit allows you to change the selected abilities.
World of Warcraft
World of Warcraft
  • As the weeks go by, the Jailer changes his tactics and modifies the tower to defeat you.
  • The abilities available to players change, as do the creatures in the instance etc.
  • As you climb the tower, you discover runes to create legendary items.
  • It's possibile to discover the origin of Frostmourne or the Helm of Domination.
World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is the 8th expansion!

Discover "Shadowlands", the new expansion of World of Warcraft announced during the 2019 Blizzcon Opening Ceremony!


Chef des portails WoW Shadowlands, WoW Classic, Burning Crusade Classic et Lost Ark. J'aime tous les MMO, sauf ceux que je n'ai pas cités dans cette signature.

More Stories

08:14 WoW Dragonflight: Players finally listened? A roadmap announces 6 content patches for 2023!
10:49 WoW Dragonflight addons: Our selection of the best PvP addons
02:17 WoW Dragonflight Patch Notes: A Massive Balancing Wave Will Happen Soon!
07:46 Race to World First WoW: Raszageth has fallen, Liquid leads the race!
07:20 WoW Mythic Key: How to get one in Dragonflight?
11:00 WoW Dragonflight: A Battle Pass will land soon, you are not dreaming!
10:20 WoW: An army of 300 dogs takes its walk in Valdrakken...
11:30 WoW Dragonflight: 30 minutes to level 70? This player creates the exploit!
11:20 Twitch Drop WoW: Two free gifts to get on Twitch this weekend!
11:40 WoW Dragonflight: If you encounter these bugs, it's "normal" for now!


World of Warcraft Shadowlands Review for PC & Mac
Check out the Mount and the Pet for WoW Shadowlands Collector's Edition
WoW: A quarter of a century of Warcraft audio

Discover guides

PvP Vendors and Conquest Points as Currency return with Shadowlands
Ion Hazzikostas on N'Zoth: This should be the last we hear from him...
WoW Mythic Key: How to get one in Dragonflight?