MGG / Video Games Articles and stories / FGC /

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP
0

Schedule, dates, times, streams, and results — here's all you need to know about the CLG MIXUP tournament taking place this weekend, where both grand finalists will earn tickets to the Slippi Champions League.

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP

General Information

Dates and Times:

  • Saturday September 26, 2020: stream starts at 12PM (PT) / 3PM (ET) / 8PM (BST),
  • Top 64 starts at 2PM (PT) / 5PM (ET) / 10 PM (BST),
  • Top 8 starts at 4.30PM (PT) / 7.30PM (ET) / 12.30AM (BST)

Location: Online, limited to USA, Mexico, Canada

Format: Double-elimination tournament, FT2 (BO3) except the Finals, which are played FT3 (BO5)

Prize Pool: $2000. The two highest placing players not already invited to the Slippi Champions League will be invited as the final two players in Division 2 of the League.

About the Slippi Champions League

Slippi is just about taking Super Smash Bros. Melee into another dimension.

Everything started when FIZZI#36, a software/computer engineer, created a Melee emulator that runs on PC, with integrated matchmaking, replays, and rollback netcode.

Tournament organizer Beyond the Smash has collaborated with FIZZI#36 to run a Melee championship during the pandemic. 16 invited players will compete across four weeks to identify the true champion of Melee.

There will two divisions, and each week 19 matches will be played. Each division will run a single-elimination bracket.

The top four in Division 1 will stay in the division, with the bottom four playing a relegation series.

The top four in Division 2 will advance to this Division 1 relegation series, while the bottom 4 will have to play relegation matches against the winners of open bracket qualifiers to stay in the league.

Invited players for Division 1: Mango (C9), Hungrybox (Team Liquid), Zain (Golden Guardians), Wizzrobe (Team Envy), iBDW (Panda Global), Plup (Panda Global), n0ne (UYU) and Axe (Tempo Storm).

The six known invites for Division 2 are: Ginger, Spark, Captain Faceroll, SFAT (Counter Logic Gaming), Albert (Tenacity Esports) and S2J (Beastcoast)

Tournament Bracket

 

Winner Bracket - FGC
Winner Bracket
Loser Bracket - FGC
Loser Bracket

Full bracket here.

Notable Players

Players

Team

iBDW

Panda Global

SFAT

Counter Logic Gaming

Spark

S2J

Beastcoast

Lucky

PewPewU

Counter Logic Gaming

Shroomed

Morituri Esports

Gahtzu

Revenge

Mango

Cloud 9

Hungrybox

Team Liquid

Streams

Slippi League Stream
Counter Logic Gaming Stream

Smash Bros. Ultimate reaches the 20 million mark in sales

After a spectacular launch in December 2018, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is now the third best-selling game in the Switch store.

0
Waulk

LP LP F LK HP

More Stories

10:36 The Game Awards: King of Fighters 15 gets second beta on PlayStation
04:18 Mister Crimson wins SFV Red Bull Kumite 2021
04:02 Project L won't have a playable beta in 2021
04:16 Red Bull Kumite reveals first eight invited players, Shaquille wins Last Chance Qualifier
10:39 Street Fighter V Spring Update event in April
03:45 SonicFox wins WePlay Ultimate Fighting League Mortal Kombat 11
12:15 Lidia Sobieska has joined the Tekken 7 roster
03:58 Sony acquires Evolution Championship Series, shares plans for 2021
04:51 Capcom announces return of Street Fighter's Capcom Pro Tour
06:46 The King of Fighters XV shows Yuri Sakazaki with a new trailer

Recommended

Daigo Umehara to receive Esports Awards Lifetime Achievement award
Street Fighter League Season 3 revealed during SFV Summer Update
SoulCalibur Online Challenge: Schedule for the upcoming year

Discover guides

Build Tang Xuan Dislyte: Which relic to equip and how to optimize it?
Tier list Dislyte: Who are the best PvP and PvE characters in the game?
Build Li Ling Dislyte: Which relic to equip and how to optimize it?